Canberra Cake Club – March

1 Apr

Following a fabulous and filling February Cakeup at Essential Ingredient, my interest in future Cake Club events was well and truly confirmed. Fortunately, my obliging friend from last time kindly allowed me to come along as his guest yet again – yes, this was the second time I got to try a lot of cake without having to bake anything. I am starting to feel a little guilty!

Again, the month’s theme matches the venue nicely: cocktails at Mint Garden Bar!

I’m a bit of a fan of Mint Garden Bar – I think it’s a lovely venue and really stands on its own when it could easily lean on Sage for patronage. It’s a bright afternoon in Canberra and the Cake Club social media accounts have been promising a few surprises at the location…

The first is the appearance of Greg Nelson, whose name you might recognise behind some of the gorgeous photos shared on Twitter each day. He’s also a cameraman for ABC TV, and is shooting a short show in the Cake Club – very cool!

Me shooting Greg who's shooting the cakes...

Me shooting Greg who’s shooting the cakes…

The cakes begin arriving thick and fast and I use all my self control not to grab a gorgeous looking cupcake while we’re taking photos and waiting for the remaining guests to arrive.

Margarita cupcakes

Margarita cupcakes

Espresso martini cocktails

Espresso martini cocktails

The second little surprise is that we’re lucky enough to use some vintage crockery and cutlery courtesy of Sweet Tea.

Pimm's cupcakes - in my top two for the day!

Pimm’s cupcakes – light, airy base with a sweet, bubbly icing – in my top two for the day (and I may have two…)!

Crantini and peach bellini cocktail cakes

Crantini and peach bellini cocktail cakes

Our Cake Club hosts, Giulia and Rachi, thank the guests and the great sponsors of the event, and then it’s time to dig in!

Giulia and Rachi welcome and thank the guests

Giulia and Rachi welcome and thank the guests

Come to me...

Come to me…

Limoncello cupcakes

Limoncello cupcakes with alien hand

There are quite a few more cupcakes this time around; I’m not sure if it’s their size, the theme or my appetite, but I find I can fit a lot more in! The limoncello cupcakes match the Pimms as my favourites on the day (though no cake can be faulted!) – the limoncello cupcakes somehow have a dense base that’s light and flavoursome, and enough lemon without being overwhelming. So. Good.

Aforementioned Pimm's cupcake love affair

Aforementioned Pimm’s cupcake love affair

Happy Cake Clubbers

Happy Cake Clubbers

Mojito cupcakes

Mojito cupcakes

Foreground: amaretto cake Background: midori cake

Foreground: amaretto sour cake
Background: midori splice cake

Fruit tingle cupcakes

Fruit tingle cupcakes

Again, lots of self control for me to take pictures and not just eat

Again, lots of self control for me to take pictures and not just eat this!

Citrus-themed cocktail cakes made a few appearances!

Citrus-themed cocktail cakes made a few appearances!

One of my (many) plates

One of my (many) plates

The final surprise of the day? Andrew and Emelia from My Kitchen Rules make an appearance!

Andrew serves up his cake to eager Cake Clubbers

Andrew serves up his cake to eager Cake Clubbers

Cake Clubbers, including Emelia (left) from My Kitchen Rules

Cake Clubbers, including Emelia (left) from My Kitchen Rules

They’ve created a cake that looks… well… hard. A lot of effort has gone into their Impossiballs Layer Cake. There’s gold leaf, layers of mud cake, white chocolate and chocolate balls filled with cosmpolitans. Yes, you read that right. I half bite into one to inspect for myself (in spite of Andrew’s emphatic warnings not to) and end up dribbling cosmopolitan down my hand and arm…

Impossiballs Cake

Impossiballs Cake

130

In sum? Another Cakeup success!

Date: Saturday, 22 March 2014

Where: Mint Garden Bar

Cost: Free

Worthwhile factor: Highly worthwhile

Want more? Check out my review of the last Cakeup here, or the official Cake Club blogfor more details or to sign up to the mailing list for news of the next Cakeup!

3 Responses to “Canberra Cake Club – March”

  1. Heike Herrling April 3, 2014 at 7:26 pm #

    Way to make me homesick Tara. Thanks. ๐Ÿ˜€

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Coming Up in 2014 #4 | In The Taratory - July 2, 2014

    […] The Forage promotes Canberra’s food and cafes and you are guaranteed I’ll be at the Cake Club stall, feeling healthy at The Muesli Bar, eating fresh cheese from The Cheese Project, and getting an […]

  2. The Forage and Hustle & Scout, New Acton (July) | In The Taratory - July 5, 2014

    […] creation I should indulge in at the Canberra Cake Club stall (you can read about the February and March cake ‘meet ups’ – anyone can go along, so long as you register!), when someone […]

What do you reckon?

