The best Belconnen Christmas lights – 2016 edition

21 Dec

After the success of last year’s Best Belconnen Christmas lights, I had to get back out and again experience one of the things that really makes this time of year feel like Christmas to me. Here are my Top 3 picks for 2016!

120 Bingley Crescent, Fraser

I first came across this house while I was doorknocking during the election campaign. I asked the owner about what I saw to be a very impressive train set in the front yard and he encouraged me to come back in time for Christmas to see the display they put on.

Why is it so good?

It’s big. From the huge Christmas tree on top of the house to the various different things to see, it’s worth driving to and it’s worth stopping and getting out.

(It is a long time since I have blogged so my photography skills are a bit rusty okay!)

christmaslights-2016-003

Next, said train set. It’s automated and it choo choos and there’s a lot to look at and admire.

christmaslights-2016-007

christmaslights-2016-006

There’s also a bubble machine and a (not real) Santa that you can sit on and pose with.

But the best bit is the miniature displays. Under cover are two miniature displays which are just mind boggling in terms of how much detail there is and what’s been achieved. There is so much to look at. I’m not going to spoil it for you by showing it all (notwithstanding it would have taken me a long time and much better photography skills) but here’s a peek.

christmaslights-2016-011-2

Don’t miss it.

154 Tillyard Drive, Flynn

This is a suburb over from Fraser but it’s a short car trip away. I had seen this mentioned in passing in a random comment on an unrelated topic in a Facebook group, and it was easy for us to go past. And wow.

What makes it so good?

Firstly it has its own Facebook page!

It also has its own FM station. When I get back into the car we are suddenly blasting Christmas tunes but they disappear once we further down Tillyard – because it’s coming from this house! So cool.

But of course it’s the lights. The lights are 3D printed! And they look amazing. I am a bit embarrassed by how poor my photos are – they don’t do it justice.

christmaslights-2016-014

christmaslights-2016-015

There’s a bubble machine that is spitting out sooo many bubbles. It’s nothing short of impressive and kids are having a great time.

My artistic "look there are lots of bubbles" shot aka out of practice

My artistic “look there are lots of bubbles” shot aka out of practice

There’s also a train! Not as good as the one at Bingley Crescent but still – a train!

christmaslights-2016-016

And a cool snowman!

christmaslights-2016-017

And a plasma ball! I’m not sure of its significance except maybe to amuse Generation Xers and Yers but I am impressed all the same.

christmaslights-2016-022

Make the visit.

106 Archdall Street, Dunlop

Archdall Street lights are the only lights from last year to make it into my Top 3 again for this year.

What makes it worth visiting?

Basically, there is a LOT going on. Everywhere you look there’s something new to spot and enjoy, and a lot of things to step through and explore. There is a huge collection of Christmas here.

christmaslights-2016-043

christmaslights-2016-032

christmaslights-2016-031

Archdall Street also has the best sense of humour.

Santa's Christmas Rock hangs off a fishing line

Santa’s Weather Rock hangs off a fishing line

Santa's Weather Rock explanatory board

Santa’s Weather Rock explanatory board

And there’s this next door:

christmaslights-2016-050

And remember:

  • A lot of work has gone into these displays. For your enjoyment, the asking price is a donation to a charity of their choosing. Bring some loose change.
  • There is a lot of traffic. Tillyard Drive in particular is on a main street as well as being a key attraction. It’s busy. Try to park on the eastern/Flynn side of the road so you don’t have to cross it.

 

3 Responses to “The best Belconnen Christmas lights – 2016 edition”

  1. Ms Frugal Ears December 21, 2016 at 9:28 pm #

    Thank you for sharing. I came across the Dunlop one expectedly last week, and took the kidlets to see it a,few days ago. They loved it. Looks like we have at least two more to visit.

  2. Phil G December 23, 2016 at 10:11 am #

    Hi Tara, thank you for the write up on 154 Tillyard and visiting, it’s great to see other displays get some publicity, I haven’t seen the Dunlop one myself so nice to see it here.
    those photo skills are not that rusty btw 🙂 nice photos of each display.
    I just wanted to say that since your visit 154 Tillyard now has snow making going on that is a huge hit with children (and adults)

    • inthetaratory December 27, 2016 at 3:38 pm #

      I just checked in Phil (I’m away o/s) – that is amazing that you added snow making (!!!). So much effort. Will your display continue until 31 December? Will you do it again next year?

What do you reckon?