Brekkie at Seasalt Dining, Bruce

29 May

One of our very favourite bloggers had recently been to Seasalt Dining for a Sunday breakfast, so, after countless visits to Ellacure (obviously my benchmark), I reluctantly suggested to Boyfriend that we should try something different and he reluctantly agreed.

On arriving to Seasalt Dining we really weren’t sure if it was open. There were plenty of cars in the carpark, but no one sitting outside. Granted, it was fuhreezing, but the mirrored windows on the restaurant suggested… emptiness. We were pleased to spot an ‘Open’ sign against the door, but disappointed to walk in (and this was about 10am) to see just one other couple there for breakfast. Hm.

We sat in the sunlight. Seasalt has some gorgeous windows, but the views are almost entirely of construction, bright sun, and bright sun shining on dirt. We both agreed that it would look rather lovely once all the buildings had gone up, but presently left a little to be desired.

Our Sunday morning vista

Menus and water were served promptly, though water came in the smallest jar I’ve ever seen – it literally filled two glasses. Being a little dehydrated from post-end-of-semester-exam festivities the night before, I had gulped my rationing of water down quickly and had to wait a little for it to be refilled (at least it WAS refilled, unlike a few other Canberra establishments) – I just don’t understand why they don’t supply bigger jugs or bottles.

Why so small?

Breakfast menu

The menu had me umming and aahing between the Big Breakfast (cheaper than other places!) and the blueberry pancakes, but I ran with the the big brekkie thanks to the mention of chorizo and hash brown. Yes please! I was extremely disappointed that there was no tomato juice on the menu. Okay, okay – I know a lot of you think it’s gross, but I think it should be a breakfast staple! I was at a loss with fruit juice choices, so ran with a terribly unhealthy chocolate milkshake instead. My idiosyncrasies are revealed hereon: I simply can’t deal with milk (and especially a milkshake) that is any hotter than ice cold. So, I asked for it to be a milkshake with ‘plenty of ice’.

No tomato juice!!!

The wine list somehow came out with the breakfast menu. Was pleased to see Kamberra wines are offered.

My milkshake arrived first and I had a few sips of it, pleasantly surprised with its delicious chill. But, there actually ended up being so much ice that there was barely any drink! I realise this is entirely my own fault, but feel a bit miffed about a rather expensive drink! But, just as I was thinking about how much I hated how far drinks come out in advance of food in almost every restaurant, our food arrived. Mine looked AWESOME – so much so that I even had a bit of a play with instagram (which I still really don’t get!) to show it off. Boyfriend had ordered the poached eggs, of which I didn’t take a photo simply because it was rather like my meal, with less!

It looked great – overflowing with poached eggs, hash brown, tomato, chorizo, mushrooms, and spinach.

But…

Looks delicious, but…

But, the poached eggs were overcooked. We poached-eggs-lovers order them because it’s the perfect way to get the runny yolk straight onto the toast without having to dip our bread into a boiled egg and risk spilling precious yolk onto the sides. This is important! An overcooked poached egg just won’t do. To that end, the sourdough was soggy and tasteless. The chorizo had been sliced in half (ie it wasn’t a whole sausage) and was just a touch overcooked. The spinach seemed to be dripping a little in oil, which isn’t necessary when it’s got fatty (and usually delicious) chorizo neighbouring it. The tomato was watery and hadn’t been on the grill for long enough. The bacon was a tad undercooked (forgiveable if everything else had been in order). But, the hashbrown was great and the mushrooms were spectacular.

I was just really disappointed that the breakfast didn’t taste anywhere near as good as it looked.

The service was prompt and friendly – but there were very few people there. Granted, quite a number of people dropped in for takeaway coffee, so that seems to be quite a thing.

Echo… echo… echo…

It’s in a great location – or, it will be. I won’t rule out going back for a dinner, but as for breakfast? Ellacure is still my number one.

Date: Sunday, 27 May 2012

Attendees: T1 and Boyfriend

Cost: $40 for two

Worthwhile factor? Not worthwhile. There’s better for breakfast. But, seems to be a goer if you’re keen for a takeaway coffee and in the Bruce area. I’d be willing to give it a go again for a non-breakfast meal.

Want more? http://www.outincanberra.com.au/seasaltdining/menus

Seasalt Dining on Urbanspoon

11 Responses to “Brekkie at Seasalt Dining, Bruce”

  1. Gary Lum May 29, 2012 at 5:57 am #

    Great review and I agree entirely. Thanks for the ping back too. There is nothing wrong with wanting ice cold milk for a milkshake. Pity about the amount of ice. They try hard there but don’t quite get it.

    You now need to DM me your instagram user name so I can follow you on instagram too 🙂

    • inthetaratory May 31, 2012 at 11:22 pm #

      You’re spot on, Gary – “they try hard there but don’t quite get it”. Exactly right. I definitely didn’t feel like they were ignoring me or not complying with my wishes, or being terrible hosts. They just… kept missing the mark.
      Haha, I don’t have enough on instagram to be worth following!

      • Gary Lum June 1, 2012 at 8:37 am #

        Awww come on, with some encouragement you’ll be posting all the time.

    • bell October 5, 2012 at 7:29 am #

      I completely DISAGREE there the best service ever! I went there when I was sick and they straight away noticed and gave me warm water. and there pancakes are to die for. it IS WORTHWHILE ellacure don’t treat you nice they have a “I just want your money” personality. to conclude sea salt has better service, personality and BETTER FOOD!!!!!!!!!! your all WRONG

  2. Heike Herrling May 30, 2012 at 7:59 am #

    Great review! My breakfast staple is pizzazz. It’s so hard to find a good breakfast here….

    • inthetaratory May 31, 2012 at 11:23 pm #

      ooh haven’t tried pizzazz! Will add it to the list…

    • Gary Lum October 5, 2012 at 8:58 pm #

      I love pizzaz too but the no reservation system has seen us wait there for more than an hour

      • inthetaratory October 5, 2012 at 10:06 pm #

        An hour?! Have never been to pizzazz but not sure if I could handle the wait.. breakfast is dependent on quick service, surely? 🙂

      • Gary Lum October 5, 2012 at 10:43 pm #

        It is always good breakfast

      • inthetaratory October 5, 2012 at 10:44 pm #

        but but… what if you’re hungry? 🙂

      • Gary Lum October 5, 2012 at 10:52 pm #

        We took a quick drive to Manuka and ate there when it was closed once.

What do you reckon?