Eighty/Twenty, Braddon

12 Feb

I’m late to the party with Eighty/Twenty – named so because of the (appealing) concept of being 80 per cent healthy and 20 per cent naughty. Or, as I like to interpret it: don’t deny yourself the very indulgent, but try to be good most of the time.

I’m here at breakfast on a Sunday of the Australia Day long weekend. There’s a large outdoor setting with various table sizes and shades to complement the restaurant opening onto it. No bookings are taken, except for large groups, but this morning we can easily pick a table. Inside, we look at menus and order at the counter; prices are mostly reasonable.

My Glow Pro juice arrives icy cold and full to the brim, but for all its bright colour is watery and tasteless.

My companion’s housemade granola with greek yoghurt and fresh fruit ($15) is substantial and tasty, and takes a long time to motor through. $15 still seems a huge amount to pay for something that can be put together quickly at home.

My quinoa trout ($18) is packed – in addition to the title ingredients – with spinach, chickpeas, roasted cherry tomatoes, small pieces of capsicum and a poached egg.

The flaked trout is tasty but maybe a touch overcooked on its edges, as with the egg.

But who cares? The dish is painfully moreish and filling: I’m full but I can’t stop spooning another delicious bite into my mouth.

I expect to be a convert to the 80/20 philosophy (I’m sure my reality is more 20/80!), but while I like the food, the smoothie really confuses me – I’m surprised it’s so hard to get right – and $15 for granola raises my eyebrows a little. Fortunately, the concept is right, and they’ve nailed the use of space; I hope the restaurant continues to grow into concept.

Date: Sunday, 25 January 2015

Where: Corner Lonsdale and Elouera Streets (near Eightysix), Braddon

Cost: ~$45 for two breakfast dishes, a coffee and a (large) smoothie

Value for money: Reasonable (depending on what you get)

Worthwhile factor: Worthwhile (I think)

Want more? Try their website.

Eighty/Twenty on Urbanspoon

2 Responses to “Eighty/Twenty, Braddon”

  1. veronicashortandsweet February 14, 2015 at 10:08 pm #

    80/20 opposite 86. Now that’s confusing!

  2. Nicole- Champagne and Chips February 15, 2015 at 2:15 pm #

    I love your honest reviews. I think I may have read Megan’s (The Girl Has Sparke) review of this place and remember she had a mixed experience too.

What do you reckon?

