Morks Restaurant, Kingston Foreshore

20 Jul

There are a few restaurants where I’m asked, “Have you been to such and such yet?” or someone presses, “You HAVE to go there?” followed by, “When are you going to review it?”

But there is one restaurant which is mentioned to me more than any other.

It is Morks.

Morks is a bit of a Canberra institution. Indeed, it was a Belconnen institution, with a restaurant in the Florey shops, before they packed up and moved to the Kingston Foreshore at the end of last year. I’m still kicking myself for not going there when they were so close.

After months – years – of me responding, “Yes, I really need to go to Morks! I’ve heard it’s excellent”, the fates align. A friend and I are well overdue a catch up. She hasn’t been able to head out recently. And, her favourite restaurant is Morks. I need no convincing.

We’re an early dinner for 6pm but we’re not the only ones in the restaurant, and the tables around us fill quickly. The design is simple with a few flash but not overbearing touches. We’re greeted warmly – my friend is recognised as a guest, a real friend of the restaurant; and I’m recognised from Twitter [or could it be the camera?] – and the service remains friendly without being intrusive throughout the evening.

I’m open to suggestions but there’s one thing I know: we’re getting pork buns. It’s my own fault, but for months I’ve been teased with photos over social media of these mouth watering morsels. I know they’re going to be good.

Porks buns ($5 each)

The buns are soft and slightly sweet and mold around the many fillings – most notably the star piece of caramelised pork. There’s red onion amongst the veges which I can easily pick out (I have a huge onion aversion). There’s crunch and caramel and freshness and sweetness. It even tastes – dare I say it – healthy. I already wish I had ordered three more.

Next up, I’ve ordered chicken wontons in a pork masterstock ($15). I had some quite divine wontons in Beechworth recently, and I’m looking for an experience in Canberra which can compare.

Chicken wontons ($15)

I unashamedly nibble at these, finding every opportunity to dip the tasty bites back into one of the best broths I’ve tasted. Once I’ve finished the wontons I proceed to – feverishly daintily – dip my spoon in to ensure every bit of this dish isn’t wasted. This is such a good dish.

My final dish is the red duck curry with crispy rice cake ($27). Again, this is a dish where its reputation precedes it. The red curry has all the flavour without killing my tastebuds, the duck falls off the bone, and the rice cake (crispy on the outside, almost creamy on the inside, and each mouthful meant to be soaked in the curry) is special. There’s tomato to refresh the palate, and lychee for the same, I assume (again, I’m not a lychee fan – I know, I know, there’s something wrong with me).

Red duck curry ($27)

My friend gets the Farmer’s Pad Thai which smells divine. Despite my own satisfaction I have a bit of food envy. It’s a filling meal and has another lightly cooked soft egg. Yum. Next time, I assure myself.

Farmer’s Pad Thai ($25)

These are filling meals and as moreish as the red duck curry is, I struggle to finish. Looking at the menu again, I somehow missed the Homer Simpson donuts (fried donuts with vanilla ice cream and bacon – BACON!), and can only put it down to being so full.

Morks is as good as they say. My only regret is leaving my visit for so long. Can’t wait to go back. Pad Thai – I’m looking at you. (And wontons. And donuts. And pork buns. Okay, all of the menu.)

Date: Tuesday, 8 July

Where: Kingston Foreshore

Cost: $87 for one glass of riesling (Helm’s off-dry – $10), two pork buns, one pad thai, one chicken wontons and one red duck curry

Value for money: High; the dishes aren’t huge but they’re substantial in flavour and content

Worthwhile factor: Highly worthwhile

Want more? Check out Morks’ website.

Morks Restaurant on Urbanspoon

 

4 Responses to “Morks Restaurant, Kingston Foreshore”

  1. Erin July 21, 2014 at 10:09 am #

    Wooo! Glad you liked it, and thanks for the “date” – we shall have to do it again soon. I still need my chicken wings!

  2. Erin July 21, 2014 at 10:11 am #

    Reblogged this on Mouthless Mutters and commented:
    Tara and I went to Morks, here is her review of the meal!

    Here’s one I did a little while back:
    http://mouthlessmutters.net/2014/03/20/morks/

  3. aurora kingston lakefront apartment October 23, 2014 at 7:49 am #

    Have posted your review on my site http://aurorakingstonlakefrontapartment.wordpress.com/dining/
    Please let me know if you would like me to remove it
    Thanks heaps

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Morked | lightlyskipping - July 30, 2014

    […] After reading her review I decided to pop in to Morks for lunch. Mork is a person but there is no apostrophe in Morks, I am […]

What do you reckon?

