How to have the best Brodburger experience

21 Mar

The name ‘Brodburger’ evokes high expectations whether you’ve been going there for years or whether it’s your first time: its reputation precedes it.

This is your guide to having the best Brodburger experience. You’re welcome.

1. Plan and order ahead.

I can’t claim this one: I was introduced to it. But I was immediately convinced this was the best – perhaps the only – way to do Brod, and many months and many Brods later have only affirmed this.

Brod should rarely be on a whim. One must have some idea they want Brod at least one hour before they desire to consume it.

Yep, Brodburger takes time. Moving from a van to the Old Bus Depot Markets hasn’t made them any faster – and, to their credit, I’m not sure Brod ever promised it would. It makes no secret that it’s not ‘fast’ food. I do wonder if we’ve been a little conditioned over the years – whether it’s takeaway or from the servo (or own home cooking?) – that burgers happen quickly.

Sometimes Brod happens a little quicker than expected, but whatever the case: it still takes time. Work with that.

If you order ahead – particularly if it’s a big order – Brod lets you know when it’s done. There’s no waiting around.

It doesn't look like much, but appearances aren't everything.

It doesn’t look like much, but appearances aren’t everything.

2. Chip expectations.

It’s not called Brodchips. If you’re going to Brod for chips, you’ll be disappointed. Brod has the best burgers in Canberra; it doesn’t have the best chips. The chips can be soggy, and often don’t have enough salt. But, a handful of chips remains a great complement to the burger.

They kinda look and taste like Hungry Jack's chips

They kinda look and taste like Hungry Jack’s chips

3. Burger size

Brod has regular and baby Brod sizes. A regular Brod is a big meal and about three-quarters through I get that familiar ‘I feel full but can’t stop eating because it’s sooo tasty’ fight between my stomach and tastebuds. A baby Brod leaves a bit of a gap in my stomach, so I err on the side of regular.

Regular sized Brod

Regular sized Brod

4. Brod type

Note: all burgers come with your choice of cheese (blue, brie, swiss or cheddar).

This is going to be controversial but: you can’t go wrong with the classic Brod (it’s classic for obvious reasons) or a BrodChicken. BrodSalmon and BrodFin seem to disappoint more often than they should. BrodVeg sounds attractive – a range of chargrilled vegetables and haloumi (yes!) – but at the end of the day it’s still an assortment of chargrilled vegetables.

I’m biased, of course, but the best Brodburger is the Brod (beef pattie) with blue cheese. The blue cheese seems to melt better than the other cheeses, turning into almost a sauce. But! If you expect your beef pattie cooked all the way through, this is not for you. For me, the best part is the rareness of the meat.

See. What. I. Mean.

See. What. I. Mean.

Finally, if there’s something you don’t like on your burger which can easily be removed – tomato, lettuce, or in my case, Spanish onion – then live with it and remove it yourself. Aside from going gluten free (which Brodburger does very well), Brodburger’s burger consistency is assisted by trying to order as close to the menu as possible.

5. Structural integrity

Brodburger’s regular burgers are big. There’s a lot of high quality ingredients. You want all those high quality ingredients in every bite.

Takeaway Brod comes in a paper wrap, and then an alfoil paper wrap. It’s a big call, but all should be removed. If you keep either wrapping on, you risk the ingredients sliding out.

Now that your Brod is unwrapped, it must be handled with two hands until you’re down to your last few bites. Don’t sip your drink while handling the burger. Put it down. Any other actions can result in dire consequences – dripping cheese, pattie falling out of the bun, dropped tomato… it’s bad. Trust me, two hands (until your last few bites… even then it’s risky).

Highly risky one-handed Brod. Not recommended.

Highly risky one-handed Brod. Not recommended.

Now you’re equipped to have the best Brodburger experience ever!

Date: Thursday, 20 March 2014

Where: Brodburgers can be enjoyed in house at or picked up from the Canberra Glassworks, 11 Wentworth Avenue, Kingston

Cost: $13.50 for Classic Brod (the cheapest [along with BrodVeg] and the best); large chips are $5.50

Worthwhile factor: Highly worthwhile (if you follow the above steps)

Want more? Try Brodburger’s detailed website.

Brodburger - Flame Grilled Burgers on Urbanspoon

15 Responses to “How to have the best Brodburger experience”

  1. John March 21, 2014 at 5:28 am #

    Wow, this almost reads as an advertisement for Brodburger. They are massively overrated. Considering how good you usually are with your reviews, I have to say on this one you are way off the mark. There is nothing good about Brodburger. Even their chips are rubbish (just as you have noted).

    • inthetaratory March 24, 2014 at 11:42 pm #

      Thanks for your comment. I’d have hoped that my feeling the need to write essentially an ‘instruction manual’ for how to properly enjoy a Brodburger should point to the fact that I’ve had disappointing experiences at Brodburger, too. And, as I pointed out, the chips aren’t crash hot (is saying that part of the advertisement?), the wait times are a pain, and I’ve had a burger fall apart in my hands. But after many, many experiences with Brod I think I’ve got my expectations set right and thought I’d share them (+ there’s a reason I keep coming back). I’m sorry you feel this is an advertisement – it’s not. I’ve never been sponsored by Brodburger and I’d never write something I didn’t support or think was true.

      • John March 25, 2014 at 5:53 am #

        We’ll have to agree to disagree then.

        Brodburger is massively overrated. I have no idea why you would continue to go back if you had so many bad experiences. Considering how competitive the food industry is, and how often you seem to try new places, why you would even bother?

        The owners are arrogant and rude, the burgers are nothing special (in fact, I find them pretty poor, even more so for the money) and the wait times are barely worth it even for something good. But you’ve obviously lowered your expectations enough that it now aligns with them! “Highly worthwhile”…wow, out of all the places you say this for it really doesn’t make any sense (inconsistently is not good when it comes to reviewing)!

        I’ve been to takeaways that make better burgers (and that is saying something about a place like Brodburger).

        Some people have a weird obsession with that place and are not being objective one bit! It must be because it is the “hip” thing to do (and be seen at, maybe given their location now).

        By the way, I know it isn’t an advertisement and you aren’t paid for it. I was merely stating it almost reads like one (since ads are never objective and never mention the bad points)…

      • inthetaratory March 25, 2014 at 7:31 am #

        I don’t think I’m being inconsistent by rating it as ‘highly worthwhile’ – when Brod is good (I’ve ordered ahead, they’ve got my order right), I find it very, very good. On the day I reviewed, it was highly worthwhile – and it mostly has been.

  2. Tales of a Confectionist March 21, 2014 at 7:39 am #

    I still love brod despite the wait, I’ve never been organised enough to order a head but my friend lives close by so we keep ourselves amused.

    I really like the vegetarian one (surprisingly!), I know some people who have added a beef patty to it if you want the best of both worlds.

    • inthetaratory March 24, 2014 at 11:45 pm #

      You have a lot more patience than me!
      I can’t do the Veg… the haloumi tempts me but I’ve been against most of those vegetables (even when they look damn good) since I was five refusing my veges at the dinner table ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Liz March 21, 2014 at 11:00 am #

    Ha, that’s so hilarious….bravo ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Erin March 21, 2014 at 6:05 pm #

    I really want Brod now!

    We were supposed to go tonight, but of my friend’s couldn’t get a babysitter! Sadness!

    Soon.

    • inthetaratory March 24, 2014 at 11:44 pm #

      If you don’t organise it soon we’ll have to organise a special one ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. THIFB March 26, 2014 at 9:44 pm #

    Super review that. My recollection from my former life in the capital is that the people that love it, love it. The people that don’t, don’t … and I judge them accordingly. I jest.

    Brodburger is an institution. Whenever I return to Canberra it will be on my agenda for sure. Your giving tips is ideal and will hopefully save visitors time off having to wait for their burgers at the shopfront.

    These tips of yours are fantastic. Your concern for the structural integrity is of paramount significance and I applaud its inclusion in this post.

    If I might add a little tip about the chips of my own it would be this – when you are getting the brod to takeaway, open the bag and give the chips a chance to breathe in the open air ASAP. It will help resolve the sogginess issue but you’ll have to have regard to the general temperature of the chips. A tricky balancing act indeed.

    Finally, I agree completely with you about the troublesome menu variations – a chap I knew once would insist on ordering a Brodchicken WITHOUT tomato. Eventually, this attitude cost him our friendship and I moved cities entirely as a result of his refusal to accept the menu as listed.

    Yours in Brod,

    THIFB

  6. Heike Herrling March 27, 2014 at 9:30 am #

    Oh the order ahead is a great tip. I hope telling the masses won’t ruin it ๐Ÿ˜›
    I’m a brodchicken with brie. The vegetarian, has been known to get meat eaters to order vego. If only they did the halloumi on the brodchicken!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bright Brewery | In The Taratory - April 27, 2014

    […] are great chips – if Brodburger had these chips, it would be firing on all cylinders. They’re hot, crunchy and beautifully seasoned with malt […]

  2. Brod Dogs, Belconnen | In The Taratory - July 5, 2014

    […] of these is Brodburger. Well, not quite. But it IS the folks behind Brodburger, and the best part is the notorious red […]

  3. BrodDogs in Belconnen @BrodBurger - July 19, 2014

    […] https://inthetaratory.wordpress.com/2014/03/21/how-to-have-the-best-brodburger-experience/  […]

What do you reckon?

