Kayaking Lake Ginninderra

24 Nov

It starts out with a few lighthearted tweets on Twitter, complimenting Paul Jurak on yet another great set of sunrise photos from his morning kayak. Paul and another friend talk about doing Lake Burley Griffin together soon, and then a local MLA joins in – suggesting she’d love to join in if they’re ever on Lake Ginninderra. I can’t help myself, and insert myself into the conversation. Before I know it, a day is locked in, a 5am start is confirmed, and I’m pulling myself out of bed to go kayaking and hopefully capture some lovely sunrise shots on Lake Ginninderra.

I’m mostly impressed that I’m even awake, having had a huge previous day battling Mt Clear in deep south ACT. I battle to get dressed in the dark with more than a few aching muscles, but make it down to Macdermott Place at Lake G just on 5am. We’re all a little familiar to each other through Twitter, but it’s the first time a number of us have met (and I wonder about the impression I make at this time of morning!).

Paul’s brought a stack of kayaks, and others have brought their own. I’m in the double kayak, and after strapping the life vest on and squeezing myself in, we’re on the water without even getting our feet wet.

There’s no wind, so the water (and weather!) is beautifully calm. Even with very little skill/experience, we’re on our way and cruising further and further away from shore within a few seconds.

Pre-dawn Lake Ginninderra

Pre-dawn Lake Ginninderra

The light starts to pierce the dark sky

The light starts to pierce the dark sky

Despite the fact that my centre of gravity appears to be in my head, I’m always amazed at just how stable kayaks are.

I swear I take the photos while stable but they seem to turn out crooked!

I swear I take the photos while stable but they seem to turn out crooked!

Paul taking some lovely snaps with Black Mountain Tower in the background

Paul taking some lovely snaps with Black Mountain Tower in the background

Most of the clouds have cleared up by the time we're on the lake, taking with them what would be a more spectacular sunrise

Most of the clouds have cleared up by the time we’re on the lake, taking with them what would be a more spectacular sunrise

The Town Centre looks even prettier from the middle of the lake!

The Town Centre looks even prettier from the middle of the lake!

059

Taking photos of the photo taker x 2 (how silken does the lake look?)

Taking photos of the photo taker x 2 (how silken does the lake look?)

Paul’s an excellent host. We do our own thing, but largely stick together (except when I overestimate our turning circle and drive us into the reeds). Paul’s a calming and personable voice who’s never more than a few metres away. Even though I’ve got no idea what I’m doing (further demonstrated by the fact that I hold my paddle upside down for the first 15 minutes), I feel rather safe!

072

We’re startled from our calm morning by a swimmer. There’s someone swimming? In the lake? At this time? And this temperature? In fact, that lake’s quite warm, and there’s a whole group of swimmers, doing a triple triathlon! I stop complaining about how sore I am from Mt Clear.

048

Hello sunrise!

Hello sunrise!

We're privy to some beautiful reflections

We’re privy to some beautiful reflections

Probably my favourite pic of the morning

Probably my favourite pic of the morning

It looks like a great day ahead - I don't feel tired at all

It looks like a great day ahead – I don’t feel tired at all

Looking closely at the wetlands

Looking closely at the wetlands

Trying not to hit Simon's outrigger

Trying not to hit Simon’s outrigger

More good steering by me... not.

More good steering by me… not.

130

Lake Ginninderra's beauty is understated

Lake Ginninderra’s beauty is understated

Like it or loathe it, the Town Centre looks pretty dashing

Like it or loathe it, the Town Centre looks rather dashing

It’s a big of a magical morning – can you really beat a silken lake, warm(ish) weather, a sunrise, hot air balloons and great company?

Date: Sunday, 24 November – 5am-7amish

Where: Lake Ginninderra, launching from a ramp at Macdermott Place

Cost: Free

Worthwhile factor? Highly worthwhile

Want more? Paul Jurak can be found at The Canberra Times online, as well as his personal website. He’s not doing tours… yet (but how good would that be?!) – I’ll be sure to let you know when he is! In the meantime, you can hire kayaks at Lake Burley Griffin Boat Hire.

7 Responses to “Kayaking Lake Ginninderra”

  1. kayakcameraman November 24, 2013 at 10:43 pm #

    Had a great time paddling on Lake G with everyone this morning, I look forward to doing it again soon.

    • inthetaratory November 24, 2013 at 11:56 pm #

      Thanks so much for having us! What a great way to start the day.

      • kayakcameraman November 30, 2013 at 8:58 am #

        Pleasure was all mine Tara. Great company + smooth conditions = excellent time. All the best!

  2. Kylie Harris November 26, 2013 at 6:44 pm #

    Looks like such a perfect way to start the day. Can you tell me more about the white and red kayaks, with that extra bit on the side, haven’t seen those before!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mt Clear | In The Taratory - November 24, 2013

    […] Kayaking Lake Ginninderra (inthetaratory.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Mt Rogers | In The Taratory - December 1, 2013

    […] Kayaking Lake Ginninderra (inthetaratory.wordpress.com) […]

  3. Kayaking Lake Burley Griffin | A drifter off to see the world - December 3, 2013

    […] but it never crossed my mind that I will interest in boarding on one until I read about In The Taratory’s post about kayaking. I immediately asked my friends if they are interested and after agreeing to wake up earlier than […]

What do you reckon?

