Skywhale launch

11 May

Whatever your thoughts about Skywhale, it’s fair to say it’s Canberra’s latest sensation. Here she is, in pictures:

She's big all right

She’s big all right

We arrive at the National Gallery and she’s tethered, with Centenary of Canberra volunteers holding tight. A big crowd gathers.

018

Some of her more 'debated' features

Some of her more ‘debated’ features

Hold on tight!

Hold on tight!

How about a kiss, eh, love?

How about a kiss, eh, love?

I have to say, the detail is exquisite. You can really see the effort put in.

Watching me, watching you

Watching me, watching you

015

Cooper is more confused and cold than anything

Cooper is more confused and cold than anything

And then, it’s time to let go, time to launch!

There she goes!

There she goes!

Up and away!

Up and away!

Skywhale’s first flight takes about 20 minutes from the National Gallery to the National Museum.

044

I wouldn’t describe her as ‘majestic’.

043

But she does all right.

040

Date: 9am, Saturday 11 May

Where: National Gallery of Australia

Cost: Free

Worthwhile factor: Worthwhile

Want more? Try the Canberra 100 site

 

9 Responses to “Skywhale launch”

  1. Gary Lum May 11, 2013 at 4:15 pm #

    I’m deliberately not ‘liking’ (Instagram/Facebook/WordPress) anything to do with the skywhale. I can’t even force myself to like it. I expect I can appreciate the detail and the effort that went into building her. This morning I read the artist also thought this could have been an evolutionary diversion if instead of evolving into land creatures from the sea, whales evolved into flying creatures. Evolution is still bounded by the universal laws of physics. Rant over. Sorry T. Great pictures Tara. My favourite was the one of Cooper and BF ๐Ÿ™‚

    • inthetaratory May 11, 2013 at 4:29 pm #

      Completely get your points Gary – and agree with them. There is a lot about it all that makes me frown. But, i took the view that what’s done is done and I can’t change it so might as well embrace it ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Gary Lum May 11, 2013 at 4:33 pm #

        Very true Tara. I may grow to like it but there something creepy about a creature with a turtle head and ten large pendulous breasts hanging over each side. I’m a simple soul, I like Mr Owl, The Droplet, The Jetsons and the orange wavy structure on Adelaide Avenue. Skywhale is just a little too complicated for me ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Andrew May 11, 2013 at 4:38 pm #

    I just can’t believe that, a) someone actually thought this was a good design to present for approval, and b) that someone else agreed, signed off on it, and handed a cheque over. That said, like you guys said…what’s done is done… ๐Ÿ˜

  3. Skywhales r OK May 16, 2013 at 11:23 pm #

    Canberra you are making a BIG mistake not loving the Skywhale… If it offends just think of it as a modern rendition of the ‘Bunyip that Ate Canberra’.

    Sure, the costs gets up people’s noses, but what world do we want to live in that has no use for art or hope?

  4. Bells May 19, 2013 at 9:36 pm #

    I love her. I was unsure at first but her happy face and striking appearance really work for me. I don’t get the haters!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Jehangir Indian at Swinger Hill | In The Taratory - May 12, 2013

    […] Skywhale launch (inthetaratory.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Centenary Martini (Centini) at the National Press Club | In The Taratory - May 15, 2013

    […] Skywhale launch (inthetaratory.wordpress.com) […]

  3. 4th* of July at the US Embassy | In The Taratory - July 4, 2013

    […] held that night (I believe it was called ‘Century’). Some of the media joke that the Skywhale might be his favourite event, and he pauses before agreeing that yes, he does have some things to say about Skywhale. He agrees […]

What do you reckon?

