Madam Woo, I do love you

25 Jan

I’ve written elsewhere that I think the restaurant ‘precinct’ of Kingston leaves a lot to be desired, with a whole swag of high priced restaurants and cafes which you leave feeling

Yum yum yum yum yum

like you haven’t got your money’s worth.

I have to clarify now that this is my general stance about Kingston. There are a few notable exceptions. Madam Woo is one of them.

Madam Woo is cheap, cheerful and friendly and the food is great (it describes its offerings at Chinese, Malaysian and Thai). The word that springs to mind is consistent – and that’s a compliment. I go there knowing what to expect, how much it’s going to cost, and I’m not disappointed with the delivery.

Happy to be eating laksa (note my nose is not normally that red - it is thanks to my Snowy Mts sunburn the week before!

The front of the restaurant is bright and crammed with tables and booths, and there are options for outside seating. The back half of the restaurant, past the counter and the kitchen, is more subdued with deep colours and seems to be set aside more for larger groups. You have to walk through all these areas to get to the bathroom.

There’s a decent array of beer available in bottles – we ordered Heinekens and Tigers – and the menu is not overwhelmingly lengthy like some Asian restaurants; instead, it has just enough to make it extremely hard to choose from the tempting offerings!

Personally, I can’t go past a king laksa. While I’m a big fan of the laksa at Civic Asian Noodle House (note I said Civic, not Dickson) for its creaminess, the laksa at Madam Woo has a much better amount and variety of ingredients. I’m a bit of a softy when it comes to chillies and for me there’s just a touch too many red flecks in the soup (which probably means there’s a perfect amount for the rest of the population).

Last visit, Boyfriend ordered the pad thai which is also one of the best pad thais I’ve tasted (and I couldn’t stop myself reaching over and helping myself to his throughout our dinner – even though I was loving my laksa!). From my experience, the dishes all just have the right amount of flavour so that even though they’re very filling, they’re devilishly moreish – even after you put the fork or chopsticks down for the ‘final’ time, you’ll probably find yourself not able to resist a few extra mouthfuls.

My only warning: while it’s a BYO, it strictly does not allow beer to be brought in. Fair nuff.

Last visit deets:

Attendees: T1 and Boyfriend

Date: Friday, 20 January 2012

Cost: $77 (gyoza dumplings entree (4), pad thai, king laksa and two beers each)

Worthwhile factor: Worthwhile

Want more? http://www.madamwoo.com.au/index.html

One Response to “Madam Woo, I do love you”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Me and Mrs Jones versus Bodega de Pintxos « In The Taratory - December 13, 2012

    […] previous posts I’ve made no secret that I feel like Kingston is tired. It’s been hard to please me, and I’ve seen many bar and restaurant efforts falter and […]

What do you reckon?

